Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Yeti Airlines crashes, Nepal Tourism Board expresses its condolence

Yeti Airlines crashes, Nepal Tourism Board expresses its condolence

It is a big shock for us to know about the tragic incident of aircrash at Lukla in the morning of October 8, 2008. Nepal Tourism Board expresses its heartfelt condolence to all bereaved family members of deceased persons. May their souls rest in peace.

A twin Ottor plane of Yeti Airlines carrying 16 passenger and three crew members crashed on landing at Tenzing Hillary Airport in Lukla in Nepal's Everest region, at 7:21 am on October 8, 2008, says Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal (CAAN) in a press release issued here today.

The aircraft, flying from the capital Kathmandu to Lukla in eastern Nepal, burst into flames after crash-landing on the sloping airstrip. The airport is 140 kilometres (90 miles) north east of Kathmandu and it is a gateway to Everest Region, Nepal's most popular trekking destination.

According to press release of CAAN, despite bad weather, a rescue helicopter has been dispatched at 10:21 am. A rescue operation is being undertaken by army at the airport. Meanwhile, issuing a press release, Yeti Airlines confirmed the death of 16 passengers and 2 crew members. Nepalese Pilot Mr. Surendra Kumar Kunwar is miraculously survived. Of the 19 passengers on the plane, 14 were foreigners and five were Nepalese.

Nepal Tourism Board is coordinating with Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal in regard to rescue operation and obtaining detail information about the crash and deceased persons. It will provide up-to-date information as soon as it gets it.

Name of deceased persons are as follows:
Name - Nationality
1. Mr. A. Frick - Australian
2. Ms. C. Katc - Australian
3. Ms. Monika Wiess - German
4. Mr. Harry Wiess - German
5. Ms. Andrea Thiele - German
6. Mr. Thomas Krause - German
7. Ms. Silke Krause - German
8. Mr. Uwe Thiele - German
9. Mr. Thorsten Berger - German
10. Mr. Andreas Blomke - German
11. Ms. Sabine Blomke - German
12. Ms. Nadine Jankoster - German
13. Ms. Annelotte Langanke - German
14. Mr. Johannes Sauter - German
15. Mr. Santosh Adhikari - Nepali
16. Mr. Gobinda Sharma - Nepali
17. F/O Bikash Pant - Crew Member
18. Ms. Sunita Shrestha - Air hostess.

No comments:

Cool Stuff Blog : Indie blogger

Copy right